Four AWESOME Book Series Ending in 2022

By Luisa María Martínez-Negret, Awesomebooks

Welcome! This is the first of a series of posts by yours truly, in which I’ll take you on a bit of a journey through my library.

Some stories are so good they need to be told in several parts! The urge to find out what happens next is more than relatable, but don’t despair! We have picked our top four fantasy book series being completed this year, so now is the perfect time to catch up ahead of the big finale!

Kingdom of the Wicked by Kerri Maniscalco

From the bestselling author of the Stalking Jack the Ripper series comes a new thrilling fantasy perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas’ A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES.

This series has everything: magic, a strong female main character willing to go to Hell and back to avenge her sister, and an unlikely alliance with a snarky Wicked prince constantly getting on her nerves. The writing will keep you hooked from the beginning and won’t let you go, and thankfully the conclusion to Emilia’s story will hit the shelves in just a few weeks, which makes this the perfect time to pick up the first two parts of the trilogy ahead of the release of KINGDOM OF THE FEARED.

KINGDOM OF THE WICKED SYNOPSIS

Two sisters.
One brutal murder.
A quest for vengeance that will unleash Hell itself…
And an intoxicating romance.

Emilia and her twin sister Vittoria are streghe – witches who live secretly among humans, avoiding notice and persecution.

When Emilia finds the body of her beloved twin she sets out to find her sister’s killer and to seek vengeance at any cost—even if it means using dark magic that’s been long forbidden.

Then Emilia meets Wrath, one of the Wicked—princes of Hell she has been warned against in tales since she was a child. Wrath claims to be on Emilia’s side, tasked by his master with solving the series of women’s murders on the island. But when it comes to the Wicked, nothing is as it seems…

KINGDOM OF THE FEARED, the long-awaited conclusion to this tale of magic, danger and secrets is coming out this September, so you have just enough time to catch up and join the thousands of readers raving about Maniscalco’s series.

SIX CRIMSON CRANES by Elizabeth Lim

If you are a fan of folkloric fantasy, this is the series for you. Inspired by the Grimm Brother’s tale of The Six Swans comes the new duology by the bestselling author of the Spin the Dawn series. Set in an East-Asian inspired world, these beautiful, spellbinding books will take you on a journey alongside an exiled princess striving to rescue her brothers and break a curse that has put her happiness —and the whole kingdom— at risk.

The haunting story of the Six Swans was one that stuck with me from a very early age, in the back of my mind until I picked up Six Crimson Cranes and it all came back running. The twist Elizabeth Lim gave it, though, transported me into a completely different world than the one I remembered from the original fairytale, and I was blown away. The world-building is immaculate, and it’s impossible not to feel a whole range of emotions alongside Shiori’anma. Her love for her family and her commitment to free them from the course pulls at your heartstrings from the get go. Something I particularly enjoyed was seeing how a different perspective can breathe in new life into a familiar story, and if you are looking for a read that will pull you right in, the SIX CRIMSON CRANES duology is just the thing to go for.

SIX CRIMSON CRANES SYNOPSIS

Shiori’anma, the only princess of Kiata, has a secret. Forbidden magic runs in her veins. And on the morning of her betrothal ceremony, Shiori loses control. At first, her mistake seems like a stroke of luck, forestalling the wedding she never wanted, but it also catches the attention of Raikama, her stepmother.

A sorceress in her own right, Raikama banishes the young princess, turning her brothers into cranes, and warning Shiori that she must speak of it to no one: for with every word that escapes her lips, one of her brothers will die.

Penniless, voiceless, and alone, Shiori searches for her brothers, and uncovers a dark conspiracy to seize the throne. Only Shiori can set the kingdom to rights, but to do so she must place her trust in a paper bird, a mercurial dragon, and the very boy she fought so hard not to marry. And she must embrace the magic she’s been taught all her life to contain – no matter what it costs.

THE DRAGON’S PROMISE, the finale to Shiori’s quest comes out August 30th. Don’t miss out and pre-order your copy now!

DAUNTLESS PATH by Intisar Khanani

Hunted meets The Wrath and the Dawn in this bold fairytale retelling —where court intrigue, false identities, and dark secrets will thrill fans of classic and contemporary fantasy alike.

One of the most interesting aspects of this series is how it started out as a self-published work and garnered enough popularity it was then picked up and published traditionally. The thought of being able to disappear from a life imposed on you and start a new one you can make your own was clearly appealing to a wide group of people, so much so that it brought the attention of publishers who turned the internet sensation into a mainstream hit. It is the second Grimm Brothers’ retelling of this list, which shows us a trend I personally hope doesn’t end soon. There is something so interesting about seeing the direction different authors can take classic fairytales and how they can make them unique through the writing and through a re-imagining of characters that feel like they have a mind of their own.

THORN SYNOPSIS

When her mother betroths Alyrra to a powerful prince in a distant kingdom, she has little hope for a better future —that is until she arrives at her new kingdom, where a mysterious sorceress robs her of both her identity and her role as princess. Finally she has the opportunity to start a new life for herself as a goose girl.

But as Alyrra uncovers dangerous secrets about her new world, including a threat to the prince himself, she knows she can’t remain silent forever. With the fate of the kingdom at stake, Alyrra is caught between two worlds, and ultimately must decide who she is and what she stands for.

This trilogy took the world by storm, firstly being self-published and shooting into stardom with its mix of “action, magic and intrigue”, (Kirkus Reviews) and you can read the whole story now! A DARKNESS AT THE DOOR is out now!

WITCHES STEEPED IN GOLD by Ciannon Smart

Two witches. One motive. And a very untrustworthy alliance…

This Caribbean inspired YA duology is unlike anything you’ve read before. This tale of magic, betrayal and revenge is going to keep you on the edge of your seat from start to finish.

Seeing more diverse voices break through into the UK publishing landscape is a welcome turn. This time Jamaican-born Ciannon Smart provided us with this thrilling tale packed with subtle traces of her heritage, inviting the reader into a refreshingly new narrative. With a dash of Killing Eve, and more than a generous serving of magic and unique world building, this duology should be in every booklover’s shelf.

There’s an infinity of perspectives and cultures with endless potential to enrich fiction, and seeing more and more titles come out (and become wildly popular) that reflect that is a breath of fresh air.

WITCHES STEEPED IN GOLD SYNOPSIS
Iraya Adair has spent her life in a cell. Heir of an overthrown and magically-gifted dynasty, she was exiled from her home on the island nation of Aiyca when she was just a child. But every day brings her closer to freedom —and vengeance.

Jazmyne Cariot grew up dressed in gold, with stolen magic at her fingertips. Daughter of the self-crowned doyenne, her existence is a threat to her mother’s rule. But unlike her sister, Jazmyne has no intention of dying to strengthen her mother’s power.

Sworn enemies, the two witches enter a deadly alliance to take down the woman who threatens both their worlds.

But revenge is a bloody pursuit, and nothing is certain —except the lengths Iraya and Jazmyne will go to win this game.

The second part of Smart’s duology is out now! Don’t miss out on EMPRESS CROWNED IN RED

What is your most anticipated release of the year? Tell us in the comments!